Sarnath Buddha

The Sarnath Buddha is a sublime statue of Buddha, more than 1,500 years old, with hands in the teaching mudra. Sarnath is a town in India near Varanasi on the Ganges River where 2600 years ago Buddha gave his first teachings to five yoga ascetics who then became his students. These first teachings have become famous throughout the Buddhist meditation communities worldwide. They are known as The Four Noble Truths. These 4 are:

-There Is Suffering
-There is an Origin of Suffering
-There is a possible Cessation of Suffering
-There is an 8-Fold Path you can cultivate to End Suffering


Buddhism and nonviolent communication

Scroll to Top